ICT – APPS FROM MENTOR

This placement I need to use ICT in at least 5 lessons.  I am lucky enough that my mentor is also the ICT teacher at the school.  I was so scared and apprehensive about this prac using ICT in HPE but I am starting to feel ok about it all with the guidance of my mentor.

He gave myself and my other peer Nancy  who I am also doing my placement with a few apps to look at while teaching specific skills such as Athletics.

Here are a few of those apps.

* Burst camera Extreme.  This app allows teachers to take a number of photos at once (15 or so) and then show the student after to give feedback and correct technique.

* Sprint Timer – This app allows teachers to take photo finish to see who won, and also times the student.

*CMV – Allows to take videos of students performance, can set to slow mo., and also set on delay so student can demonstrate skill and then run and look at the ipads to see what it look like and see where they need to correct something.  Great way for students to peer teach and self correct themselves.  My mentor said this app will allow me to show a professional at start of a lesson and then they film themselves and show the two videos (themselves and the professional) side by side on the screen to really see if their technique is correct.

I have downloaded these apps and I am planning on using these within the 3 weeks that I am on practical experience.

Leave a comment